Login  Register Sunday, December 21, 2008    

 The CSC Structure: 
The Framework outlines a 3-tier structure for the CSC Scheme:
a) At the first (CSC) level would be the local Village Level Entrepreneur (VLE- loosely analogous to a franchisee), to service the rural consumer in a focused cluster of 5-6 villages.

b) At the second/middle level would be an entity termed the Service Centre Agency (SCA – loosely analogous to a franchiser) to train, manage and build the VLE businesses

c) At the third level would be the agency designated by the State- the State Designated Agency (SDA) - to facilitate implementation of the Scheme within the State, to provide policy, content and financial support to the SCAs

A Program Management Agency (PMA) was appointed to assist the DIT in Phase I i.e. The Project Development Phase. 

The National Level Service Agency (NLSA): 
There are significant challenges in exploiting opportunities to achieve economies of scale in the identification, customization and implementation of the physical and digital infrastructure required for the project. Further, many of the potential citizen-centric services would lend themselves to aggregation at the national level. To enable the State-specific implementation plans and benefit from such economies of scale, aggregation of best practices, content providers, etc., it is expected that the PMA extend its role to a National Level Service Agency (NLSA) – and continue with the project for another 30 months.

The Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV): 
In addition to the NLSA, an SPV has been proposed for the day-to-day monitoring of the CSC Scheme, in terms of financial support, content aggregation and SCA enablement. It is suggested that the SPV would be set up during the initial implementation phase of the Scheme, but it is essentially an entity created to be an integral part of the CSC framework in-perpetuity. The SPV would undertake the following key roles and responsibilities:

a) Lay down operating and financial disciplines within the CSC system 

b) Provide a framework for collaborative decision making process 

c) Catalyze content aggregation on an on-going basis

d) Build a common “Identity” between all stakeholders to the citizens as well as lenders

Exhibit : CSC Implementation Framework Structure

Service Center Agency (SCA) - The Prime Driver: 
The SCA would be the key driver of the whole CSC eco-system. The SCA would be supported by the NLSA and the respective State Level Agency (SLA) to implement the CSC Scheme in their specified areas of operations. This would include activities such as identifying the required applications and services, harnessing the State network, identifying and training the VLE, establishing the CSC (either directly or through the VLE), supplying, aggregating and updating the content.

The Village Level Entrepreneur:
The VLE is the key to the success of the CSC operations. While content and services are important, it is the VLE’s entrepreneurial ability that would ensure CSC sustainability. A good VLE would not be one who has financial muscle only, but somebody who has entrepreneurial traits, strong social commitment as well as respect within the community. The quality of service at the CSCs would be as effective as the quality of VLEs running them. Selection and proper training of the VLE therefore would play a vital role in making the CSC a success.

Home  |  About CSC Project  |  Project Status  |  DIT  |  States   |  SCAs  |  Utilities  |  Data Bank  |  Disclaimer
Copyright 2006 | Common Services Centers Project, Department of IT, Government of India   |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use